

City and County of Swansea

Minutes of the Economy, Environment & **Infrastructure Policy Development Committee**

Remotely via Microsoft Teams

Thursday, 16 December 2021 at 2.00 pm

Present: Councillor C Anderson (Chair) Presided

Councillor(s) Councillor(s) Councillor(s) J E Burtonshaw P R Hood-Williams P Downing

P K Jones W G Lewis P Lloyd

P M Matthews T M White

Officer(s)

Mark Barbour **Biodiversity Officer**

Jeremy Davies Group Leader Parks and Cleansing Deb Hill Nature Conservation Team Leader Chris Howell **Head of Waste Management**

Rachel Lewis **Project Manager** Simon Lydiard Team Leader - Parks

Paul Meller Natural Environment Section Manager

Pamela Milford Lead Lawyer Alan Webster Tree Officer

Democratic Services Officer Samantha Woon

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s):

24 Disclosures of Personal & Prejudicial Interests.

In accordance with the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea, the following interest was declared:

Councillor P R Hood-Williams – Personal – Minute No. 26 – Management and Maintenance of Open Spaces (Biodiversity).

25 Minutes.

Resolved that the Minutes of the Economy and Infrastructure Policy Development Committee held on 18 November, 2021, be approved and signed as a correct record.

Management and Maintenance of Open Space (Biodiversity). 26

Minutes of the Economy, Environment & Infrastructure Policy Development Committee (16.12.2021) Cont'd

The Head of Waste Management, assisted by Officers, presented a progress update on the review of the Council's management of its green spaces.

Officers detailed progress to date (including the role of the working group), purchase of equipment, engagement with environmental bodies, surveys, operational trials, preparation for expansion of trials next season, information and raising awareness, community consultation and general issues.

Members' asked questions of the Officers who responded accordingly.

The Head of Waste Management stated that a strategic policy would be required to be developed in the first instance, prior to any broader consultation. He reiterated the challenges faced by Members in balancing the Council's commitment to the climate change/nature emergency and the views of their local communities. Future consultation exercises would need to be implemented in a staged approach once the overarching framework had been approved.

The Chair thanked Officers for their informative presentation.

Resolved that:

- 1) The progress to date and direction of travel were noted.
- 2) Chris Howell invite the Chair and Councillor P K Jones to future meetings of the Officer Working Group.
- 3) Members' to be invited to attend a working group to discuss the future on-line consultation exercise.

27 Tree Policy.

The Natural Environment Section Officer presented a report which sought approval of a strategy for the management of trees on/affecting land/property in Council ownership and setting out the Council's duties in relation to protected trees.

The Chair thanked the Officer for his informative report.

Resolved that:

- 1) The Tree Management Strategy is agreed and referred to Cabinet for approval.
- 2) A mapping exercise is carried out to identify potential sites/zones for planting on Council owned land subject to future funding and maintenance availability.

28 Climate Change.

Resolved that the matter be deferred to the meeting on 20 January, 2022.

29 Work Plan 2020 - 2022.

Minutes of the Economy, Environment & Infrastructure Policy Development Committee (16.12.2021)

Cont'd

The Chair introduced the Work Plan for 2020-2022 and stated that the Climate Change Strategy would be discussed at the meeting on 20 January, 2022.

Members' discussed topics for discussion for the remainder of the municipal year and suggested that the item regarding Street Lighting be deferred until the meeting on 17 February, 2022.

Resolved that:

1) the Democratic Services Officer organise a meeting between the Chair, Vice Chair and Director of Place to discuss the timing of future items for consideration for the remainder of the municipal year.

The meeting ended at 3.08 pm

Chair